WHO Collaborating Centre for the Family of International Classifications

There is a close cooperation between BfArM and the World Health Organization concerning the maintenance of the ICD-10, the ICD-O-3 and the ICF. Since 1997 DIMDI participates regularly in the annual meetings of the WHO Collaborating Centres.

To institutionalize this collaboration DIMDI was designated WHO Collaborating Centre for the Family of International Classifications by the World Health Organization on June 23, 2003. At the end of the year 2015 DIMDI was redesignated for the fourth time for another 4 years until May 2020.

Since a few years DIMDI is actively represented in several working groups of the WHO Collaborating Centres. Since May 2020 BfArM takes on these duties and responsibilities:

  • Council
    The Council consists of several Centre Heads and Committee Chairs and is responsible for planning of the annual meetings of the Collaborating Centres and for continuing with the actual work between the annual meetings. The Council endorses all major decisions concerning the classifications. DIMDI and now BfArM as legal successor holds one of the two chair-positions of the Council.
  • Update and Revision Committee (URC)
    The URC discusses the suggestions for the maintenance of the ICD-10 and for ICF and prepares recommendations for changes. During the annual meetings of the heads of Centres these changes are finalised and approved for incorporation into the ICD-10 or the ICF. The changes will then be ratified by the Council and recommended to WHO for publication as official update. The URC has its own web pages: Update and Revision Committee.
  • Mortality Reference Group (MRG)
    The MRG deals with all questions concerning mortality coding and clarifies problems related to the application of the coding guidelines. 
  • Informatics and Terminology Committee (ITC)
    The ITC supports the WHO and the WHO Classification Centres in the development of electronic tools and standards for classifications and their dissemination. The combined use of Terminologies and Classifications is discussed in this Committee and ways are evaluated on how to link these different systems reliable and stable over time.
  • Family Development Committee (FDC)
    The FDC promotes the integration of the WHO classifications into a suite or family of classifications. Currently it deals with health interventions, external causes of injuries and primary care. Furthermore, it analyses the need for further classifications and sets up quality criteria for their admission into the family.
  • Education and Implementation Committee (EIC)
    The EIC developes curricula for the training and further education of the classification users and certification requirements for trained users. The EIC works on improving the implementation of the classifications in the member states and proposes solutions and remedies.
  • Morbidity Reference Group (MbRG)
    The MbRG deals with all questions concerning morbidity coding. Future work will primarily focus on supporting WHO in the ICD-11 revision process.
  • Functioning and Disability Reference Group (FDRG)
    The FDRG covers questions and problems concerning the ICF, the updates to ICF and prepares additional information for the use of ICF.

On the website of WHO you will find further information on these working groups and an overview of the designated Collaborating Centres for the Family of international health classifications:

This website uses session cookies to ensure certain functionalities such as downloads or login to closed areas. In order to optimize the website, we use the analysis tool Matomo. Our Matomo installation works without tracking cookies. You will find more detailed information and the possibilities to object to the use of Matomo in our data privacy declaration.