DIMDI medicalknowlege, German Institute of Medical Documentation and Information

Institute within the scope of the Federal Ministry of Health (BMG)


page title: DIMDI - Classification and Demarcation of Medical Devices
webaddress,url: http://www.dimdi.de/en/mpg/ismp/klassi.htm

Classification and Demarcation of Medical Devices

Medical devices other than active implantable medical devices are classified. The classification is based on the classification rules in Appendix IX of Directive 93/42/EEC. In vitro diagnostics are assigned according to a list from Appendix II of Directive 98/79/EC, or are devices for self-testing or other devices.

When there are differences of opinion between the manufacturer and the notified body, the competent authority (BfArM or PEI) decides on the classification of medical devices or the assignment of an IVD (according to § 13 Medical Devices Act, MPG).

The competent authorities enter the notifications in the Medical Devices Information System for the classification of medical devices or demarcation as non-medical devices. The contents of the MD classification/demarcation database are based on Annex 5 of the DIMDI-Verordnung. Only the competent authorities currently have access to this database.

DIMDI medizinwissen, Deutsches Institut für Medizinische Dokumentation und Information

Institut im Geschäftsbereich des Bundesministeriums für Gesundheit (BMG)


Seitentitel: DIMDI - Medizinprodukte Abgrenzung und Klassifizierung
Webadresse,URL: http://www.dimdi.de/de/mpg/ismp/klassi.htm

Klassifizierung und Abgrenzung von Medizinprodukten

Medizinprodukte mit Ausnahme der aktiven implantierbaren Medizinprodukte werden klassifiziert. Die Klassifizierung erfolgt nach den Klassifizierungsregeln des Anhangs IX der Richtlinie 93/42/EWG. In-vitro-Diagnostika werden einer Liste aus Anhang II der Richtlinie 98/79/EG zugeordnet, bzw. sind Produkte zur Eigenanwendung oder sonstige Produkte.

Bei Meinungsverschiedenheiten zwischen Hersteller und Benannter Stelle über die Klassifizierung eines Medizinproduktes oder Zuordnung eines IVD entscheidet die zuständige Bundesoberbehörde (gemäß § 13 MPG).

Die Behörden erfassen die Mitteilungen zur Klassifizierung von Medizinprodukten oder Abgrenzung zu Nicht-Medizinprodukten im Medizinprodukte-Informationssystem. Der Inhalt der Datenbank MP-Klassifizierung/Abgrenzung richtet sich nach Anlage 5 der DIMDI-Verordnung. Zugriff auf diese Datenbank haben derzeit nur die zuständigen Behörden.