Skip to main content [accesskey + 1] Skip to navigation [accesskey + 2] Skip to sidebar [accesskey + 3]

Navigation

Local Servicelinks

content

European Market

For the European medical device market we are providing you with information regarding:

  • Eudamed: European Databank on Medical Devices
  • Medical Devices Unit of the European Commission

In addition, you will find links to contact addresses, legislative texts, directives, guidelines and harmonized standards.

Eudamed – European Databank on Medical Devices

The European Commission obligates the EU Member States to use the Eudamed databank as of 1 May 2010 (resolution from 19 April 2010). Thereby all data collected on an individual state level thus far that are required according to the Directives 90/385/EEC, 93/42/EEC and 98/79/EC, will be centrally combined:

  • Notifications about manufacturers, authorised representatives and products
  • Data in the context of certificates (issued, changed, complemented, suspended, withdrawn or refused)
  • Data in accordance with monitoring procedures and vigilance reporting
  • Information on clinical investigations

The quick access by the competent authorities to this information is intended to improve market surveillance.

Eudamed exists as a secure web portal for the exchange of information between the national authorities. Here they can submit and retrieve data. Manufacturers, notified bodies or the public do not have access.

Resolution by the Commission regarding the European Databank on Medical Devices (Eudamed) (PDF, 716 kB)

German data submission to Eudamed

According to § 33 Medical Device Act, the German Institute of Medical Documentation and Information (DIMDI) provides the required data from the national Medical Devices Information System for the European databank. To accomplish this, the DIMDI has developed a software for the XML upload from the national databanks. The current German data will be transmitted to Eudamed every 14 days. Only once the EU Commission has created the technical conditions for a fully automatic delivery can the DIMDI transmit current data on a daily basis.

Development of Eudamed

Between 1997 and 1999 the DIMDI successfully developed the first version of Eudamed in the context of an EU project.

In 2000, however, the Commission decided to take on the responsibility for the European databank. It set up Eudamed with the Directorate-General for Enterprise and Industry. Since January 2004 the competent authorities have been able to access the databank. Some EU Member States, esp. those lacking their own national systems, have begun to provide their data to Eudamed on a voluntary basis. However, since no binding agreements regarding the delivery process and data set existed, the database was not developed further.

Not until 2006 did the EU Commission begin to expedite the rebuilding and operation of Eudamed. A new software version (Eudamed 2) was approved at the end of 2009. In July 2010, Eudamed migrated from the Directorate-General for Enterprise and Industry to the Directorate-General for Health and Consumers.

The international Eudamed Working Group meets twice a year at the EU Commission. The DIMDI represents the German interests there. The decisions of this work group are taken into consideration by the EU Commission during the on-going development of Eudamed.

EU Commission - Medical Devices Unit

The Medical Devices Unit of the EU Commission is located at the Directorate-General for Health and Consumers. It provides detailed on-line information about the legal framework for access to the European market as well as trade relations in the medical devices sector within the European Union. Aside from essential directives, guidelines (MEDDEV), manuals or consensus documents can be found that were created by members of the Medical Devices Expert Group (MDEG) d. Useful contact information completes the offer.

The European Commission – Medical devices

Further Information on our website

Additional information on the web

Zum Textbeginn - [Accesskey + 1] Zur Navigation - [Accesskey + 2] Zur Marginalspalte - [Accesskey + 3]

Navigation

lokaler Servicebereich (Marginalspalte)

Seiteninhalt/Textbeginn

Europäischer Markt

Für den europäischen Medizinproduktemarkt informieren wir Sie zu:

  • Eudamed: europäische Datenbank für Medizinprodukte
  • Referat Medizinprodukte bei der Europäischen Kommission

Darüber hinaus finden Sie Links zu Kontaktadressen, Gesetzestexten, Richtlinien, Leitlinien und harmonisierten Normen.

Eudamed - Europäische Datenbank für Medizinprodukte

Die Europäische Kommission verpflichtet die EU-Mitgliedsstaaten, die Datenbank Eudamed seit 1. Mai 2011 zu nutzen (Beschluss vom 19. April 2010). Damit werden die bisher auf einzelstaatlicher Ebene erhobenen Daten zentral zusammengeführt, die gemäß den Richtlinien 90/385/EWG, 93/42/EWG und 98/79/EG erforderlich sind:

  • Anzeigen zu Herstellern, Bevollmächtigten und Produkten
  • Angaben im Zusammenhang mit Bescheinigungen (ausgestellt, verlängert, geändert, ergänzt, ausgesetzt, zurückgezogen oder verweigert)
  • Angaben gemäß Beobachtungs- und Meldeverfahren
  • Informationen zu klinischen Prüfungen

Der rasche Zugriff der zuständigen Behörden auf diese Informationen soll die Marktüberwachung verbessern.
Eudamed besteht als sicheres Web-Portal für den Informationsaustausch zwischen den einzelstaatlichen Behörden. Sie können hier Daten eingeben sowie recherchieren. Hersteller, Benannte Stellen oder die Öffentlichkeit haben keinen Zugriff.

Beschluss der Kommission über die europäische Datenbank für Medizinprodukte (Eudamed) (PDF, 718 kB)

Deutsche Datenlieferungen an Eudamed

Nach § 33 Medizinproduktegesetz stellt das DIMDI die erforderlichen Daten aus dem nationalen Medizinprodukte-Informationssystem für die europäische Datenbank zur Verfügung. Dazu hat das DIMDI eine Software zum XML-Upload aus den nationalen Datenbanken entwickelt. Die aktuellen deutschen Daten werden damit 14-tägig an Eudamed übertragen. Erst wenn die EU-Kommission die technischen Voraussetzungen für eine vollautomatische Lieferung geschaffen hat, kann das DIMDI tagesaktuelle Daten übermitteln.

Entwicklung von Eudamed

Zwischen 1997 und 1999 hatte das DIMDI im Rahmen eines EU-Projektes erfolgreich die erste Version von Eudamed entwickelt.

Im Jahr 2000 beschloss die Kommission jedoch, die Verantwortlichkeit für die europäische Datenbank selbst zu übernehmen. Sie siedelte Eudamed bei der Generaldirektion Unternehmen und Industrie an. Seit Januar 2004 können die zuständigen Behörden auf die Datenbank zugreifen. Einige EU-Mitgliedstaaten begannen, auch in Ermangelung eigener nationaler Systeme, ihre Daten auf freiwilliger Basis an Eudamed zu übermitteln. Da verbindliche Absprachen zum Lieferverfahren und zum Datenkranz fehlten, wurde die Datenbank jedoch nicht weiterentwickelt.

Erst 2006 begann die EU-Kommission, den Neuaufbau und den Betrieb von Eudamed voranzutreiben. Eine neue Software-Version (Eudamed 2) wurde Ende 2009 freigegeben. Im Juli 2010 migrierte Eudamed von der Generaldirektion Unternehmen und Industrie zur Generaldirektion Gesundheit und Verbraucher.

Zwei Mal jährlich trifft sich die Eudamed Working Group, eine internationalen Arbeitsgruppe, bei der EU-Kommission. Das DIMDI vertritt dort die deutschen Interessen. Die Beschlüsse dieser Arbeitsgruppe werden von der EU-Kommission bei der kontinuierlichen Weiterentwicklung von Eudamed berücksichtigt.

EU-Kommission - Referat Medizinprodukte

Das Referat Medizinprodukte der EU-Kommission ist bei der Generaldirektion Gesundheit und Verbraucher angesiedelt. Es informiert online ausführlich über den rechtlichen Rahmen für den europäischen Marktzugang und für Handelsbeziehungen im Medizinproduktesektor in der Europäischen Union. Zu finden sind neben grundlegenden Richtlinien auch Leitlinien (MEDDEV), Leitfäden (Manuals) oder Konsenspapiere, die durch die Mitglieder der Medical Devices Expert Group (MDEG) erarbeitet wurden. Nützliche Kontaktdaten ergänzen das Angebot.

Die Europäische Kommission - Medizinprodukte

Weiterführende Informationen auf unserer Website

Weitere Informationen im Web