Skip to main content [accesskey + 1] Skip to navigation [accesskey + 2] Skip to sidebar [accesskey + 3]

Navigation

Local Servicelinks

content

OPS - German Procedure Classification

The German procedure classification (Operationen- und Prozedurenschlüssel - OPS) is the official classification for the encoding of operations, procedures and general medical measures in the inpatient sector and for surgical procedures in the outpatient sector. The currently valid version is OPS 2017.

Free of charge reference versions in German language are available from the classifications downloadcenter. Machine-readable and editable versions in German language for further processing are liable for fees and can be purchased from the DIMDI Webshop. All formats of the current version are free of charge from July onwards.

Official classification for operations and procedures

DIMDI publishes the OPS classification on behalf of the Federal Ministry of Health; it is in the public domain. Its use in inpatient care is laid down in § 301 Volume V of the German Social Security Code (SGB V) and for surgical procedures in the outpatient sector in § 295 SGB V.

Structure of OPS

OPS consists of two parts:

  • Tabular List: consisting of the hierarchically ordered list of codes together with supplementary information: The preface contains information about the encoding process and a commentary on the most important changes compared to the previous version. The appendix contains instructions on the calculation of expenditure points for complex intensive care treatment and the German complex nursing measures score (PKMS).
  • Alphabetical Index: consisting of the alphabetically ordered list of almost all operations and procedures (with their respective codes) from the Tabular List plus an introduction to the Alphabetical Index.

The preface of OPS contains information for its use. However, priority in application has to be given to sector-specific encoding guidelines.

OPS as the basis for G-DRG, EBM and quality reports

OPS forms an important basis for the G-DRG and PEPP case-based fixed sum systems. They are provided by InEK (Institute for the Hospital Remuneration System) on behalf of the self-governing partners of the German health care and are used in inpatient care. OPS is also used to encode operations and procedures in the outpatient sector for remuneration in accordance with the doctor’s fee schedule, the so called German Uniform Assessment Standard (EBM). Hospital quality reports are also based on OPS-encoded procedures.

Proposal procedure for OPS and ICD-10-GM

OPS is maintained and updated in an elaborate process. At present, this is based on a proposal procedure conducted annually under the lead management of DIMDI.

Proposal procedure for OPS and ICD-10-GM

OPS as adaptation of ICPM by WHO

OPS is an adaptation of the International Classification of Procedures in Medicine (ICPM) of the World Health Organisation (WHO). The German version of the ICPM was developed on the basis of a translation of the extended Dutch version ICPM-DE (Dutch Extension). This was developed into OPS. Until 2004, OPS was known as OPS-301 (301 refers to § 301 SGB V stipulating the application of OPS). OPS is a version adapted to the specific requirements of the German health care system. It is currently revised on an annual basis in cooperation with the self-governing partners in the German healthcare system under the lead management of DIMDI.

Contact Classifications, Terminologies, Standards

Get answers to questions on classifications, terminologies/nomenclatures and thesauri.
E-mail: Classifications
Phone: +49 221 4724-524

DIMDI - OPS Operationen- und Prozedurenschlüssel


Schnellnavigation

Befehlstasten/Accesskeys


Abschnittsende: zur Schnellnavigation

globaler Servicebereich

Abschnittsende: zur Schnellnavigation

Navigation

lokaler Servicebereich (Marginalspalte)

Seiteninhalt/Textbeginn

OPS

Der Operationen- und Prozedurenschlüssel (OPS) ist die amtliche Klassifikation zum Verschlüsseln von Operationen, Prozeduren und allgemein medizinischen Maßnahmen im stationären Bereich und beim ambulanten Operieren. Seit dem 1. Januar 2014 ist der OPS in der Version 2014 anzuwenden.  

 

 

Kostenfreie Referenzfassungen finden Sie im Downloadcenter Klassifikationen. Maschinenlesbare und editierbare Formate zur Weiterverarbeitung erhalten Sie kostenpflichtig im DIMDI Webshop. Ab Juli sind alle Formate kostenfrei.

Amtliche Klassifikation für Operationen und Prozeduren

Das DIMDI gibt den Operationen- und Prozedurenschlüssel OPS im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für Gesundheit heraus, er ist gemeinfrei. Die Anwendung erfolgt im stationären Bereich gemäß § 301 SGB V, im Bereich des ambulanten Operierens gemäß § 295 SGB V.

Aufbau des OPS

Der OPS besteht aus zwei Teilen:

  • Systematisches Verzeichnis (Systematik) aus der eigentlichen Systematik, also der hierarchisch geordneten Liste der Kodes, und ergänzenden Informationen: Der Vorspann enthält Hinweise zur Benutzung sowie einen Kommentar mit den wichtigsten Änderungen gegenüber der Vorgängerversion. Im Anhang finden Sie Anleitungen, um Aufwandspunkte für die intensivmedizinische Komplexbehandlung zu berechnen, und die Pflegekomplexmaßnahmen-Scores (PKMS).
  • Alphabetisches Verzeichnis (Alphabet) mit der alphabetisch geordneten Liste nahezu aller in der Systematik enthaltenen Operationen und Prozeduren (jeweils mit zugehörigem Kode) und einer Einführung zum Alphabet.

Im Vorspann zum OPS finden Sie die Hinweise zur Benutzung. Vorrangig sind aber bereichsspezifische Kodierrichtlinien anzuwenden.

OPS als Grundlage für G-DRG, EBM und Qualitätsberichte

Der OPS ist eine wichtige Grundlage für das pauschalierende Entgeltsystem G-DRG. Es wird im Auftrag der Selbstverwaltungspartner im Gesundheitswesen vom Institut für das Entgeltsystem im Krankenhaus (InEK) bereitgestellt und in der stationären Versorgung eingesetzt. Für die Vergütung der ambulanten Operationen nach einheitlichem Bewertungsmaßstab (EBM) werden Operationen und Prozeduren ebenfalls nach OPS kodiert. Auch die Qualitätsberichte der Krankenhäuser basieren auf OPS-kodierten Operationen.

Vorschlagsverfahren zu OPS und ICD-10-GM

Der OPS wird in einem aufwendigen Pflegeverfahren weiterentwickelt. Die Grundlage dafür bildet ein zurzeit jährlich unter Federführung des DIMDI durchgeführtes Vorschlagsverfahren.

Vorschlagsverfahren zu OPS und ICD-10-GM

OPS als Adaption des ICPM der WHO

Der OPS ist eine Adaption der Internationalen Klassifikation der Prozeduren in der Medizin (ICPM) der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO). ICPM steht für "International Classification of Procedures in Medicine". Die deutsche Fassung der ICPM entstand auf der Basis einer Übersetzung der erweiterten holländischen Fassung ICPM-DE (Dutch Extension). Diese wurde zum OPS weiterentwickelt. Bis 2004 wurde der OPS als OPS-301 bezeichnet (301 bezieht sich auf den § 301 SGB V, der die Anwendung des OPS vorschreibt). Der OPS ist eine an die Erfordernisse des deutschen Gesundheitswesens angepasste Fassung. Er wird mit den Partnern der Selbstverwaltung im Gesundheitswesen unter Federführung des DIMDI zurzeit jährlich überarbeitet.

Weitere Informationen auf unserer Website

Nomenklaturen und Klassifikationen

 

Haben Sie noch Fragen oder Anregungen? Dann wenden Sie sich bitte an uns:
Tel.: +49 221 4724-524
E-Mail: Klassifikationen