Skip to main content [accesskey + 1] Skip to navigation [accesskey + 2] Skip to sidebar [accesskey + 3]

Navigation

Local Servicelinks

content

OPS - History and Outlook

OPS is an adaptation of the English-language International Classification of Procedures in Medicine (ICPM) by WHO. The German version of the ICPM resulted from the translation and expansion of the Dutch version ICPM-DE (Dutch Extension) and was further developed into OPS-301 and then OPS.

Version history and Announcements

This overview shows periods of validity, areas of application and legal foundations for the various versions of OPS (OPS-301); in addition, it also contains references to the publication in the Federal Gazette of the dates that respective version became effective

Version history and Announcements

ICPM and ICHI of WHO

The need for an international classification of medical measures had been recognised as early as 1971. In 1978, WHO thus published its International Classification of Procedures in Medicine (ICPM). This was limited to surgical procedures. ICPM is part of the group of international health-related classifications. Because of the dynamics of medical-technical progress, the classification was costly to maintain and update; difficulties arose in international coordination. For that reason, work on the ICPM ceased in 1989. However, work on country-specific versions on a national level continued.

ICHI as the successor to the ICPM

In recent years, WHO has worked on a new classification of health interventions. The aim of this work is to create an internationally agreed classification that can be used for comparison and statistical exchange. For countries that do not yet have their own procedural classification, this new ICHI (International Classification of Health Interventions) is intended to be easily expandable. This new classification is also intended to cover traditional nedicine and measures taken by public healthcare services.

OPS-301: Version 1.0 to version 2.1

The German version of the ICPM resulted from the translation and expansion of the Dutch version ICPM-DE (Dutch Extension) and further developed into OPS-301. Of the 9 chapters of ICPM-DE, chapters 2,3,4,6 and 7 were omitted. OPS-301 version 1.0 was published in1994 by DIMDI on behalf of the Federal Ministry of Health (BMG) and used in inpatient care from 1995.

OPS-301 is a mainly numerical code with a monohierarchical structure, initially comprising 5 hierarchical levels. The four chapters in version 1.0 covered surgical prcedures (Ch. 5) as well as diagnostic (Ch. 1), non-surgical therapeutic (Ch. 8) and ancillary measures (Ch. 9).

The purpose of OPS-301 was greater transparency of services and costs. Its use to encode measures provided by hospitals was stipulated by the German Health Care Structure Act ("Gesundheitsstrukturgesetz GSG") and § 301 SGB V (Code of Soical Law Part V, "Sozialgesetzbuch Fünftes Buch"). OPS-301 permitted the billing of special reimbursement rates and case-based flat-rate payment of the old remuneration system as well as billing in accordance with the new G-DRG case-based fixed sum system, and it supported quality assurance documentation pursuant to § 137 SGB V.

In 2001, at the suggestion of the National Board for Classification in Health Care (KKG), the OPS Working Group (AG OPS) was set up at the DIMDI with representatives of all organisations involved with the KKG, in order to reach a consensus on the amendment required for OPS-301.

Version 2.0 was the first to include Chapter 3: Imaging Diagnostics

Versions 1.0, 1.1, 2.0 and 2.1 of OPS 301 were used from 1995 to 2003 exclusively for the encoding of surgical interventions in inpatient care.

Optional OPS: Extended catalogue

From version 2.1 (from mid-2003), OPS-301 was complemented by an unofficial extended catalogue to support the further development of OPS in relation to the G-DRG case-based fix sum system. This was also referred to as the optional OPS. The optional OPS was discontinued in 2009.

Optional OPS

OPS: Version 2004 to current version

From version 2004, OPS-301 has been continued as OPS. As part of a structured annual proposal procedure, it is developed further by the self-administration partners represented in the OPS Working Group under the lead management of the DIMDI and published annually. The most significant content changes compared with the previous version are highlighted in a commentary in the preface to the respective Tabular List , the individual changes are listed in the list of changes.

2004 was the first publication of an Alphabetical Index to complement OPS. Since 2004, OPS has been used generally to encode medical procedures in inpatient hospital care.

Since 2005, OPS has also been used for outpatient surgical interventions.

In 2006, the chapter "Medikamente" (Drugs, medicaments and biological agents) was included; until then, medicines could only be considered from regularly updated chemotherapeutic lists.

In 2009, the optional OPS was discontinued and its codes either transferred to the official catalogue or deleted.

In 2010, OPS was first published in the WHO standard ClaML format.

In 2011, the ASCII book format was discontinued.

Continuous development and improvement

OPS is further developed and improved through a structured and transparent proposal procedure and is currently revised on an annual basis.

Proposal procedure OPS

Zum Textbeginn - [Accesskey + 1] Zur Navigation - [Accesskey + 2] Zur Marginalspalte - [Accesskey + 3]

Navigation

lokaler Servicebereich (Marginalspalte)

Seiteninhalt/Textbeginn

OPS - Historie und Ausblick

Der OPS ist eine Adaption der englischsprachigen Internationalen Klassifikation der Prozeduren in der Medizin (ICPM) der WHO. Die deutsche Fassung der ICPM entstand als Übersetzung und Erweiterung der holländischen Fassung ICPM-DE (Dutch Extension) und wurde zum OPS-301 bzw. OPS weiterentwickelt.

Versionsverlauf

Die tabellarische Übersicht zeigt, welche Version des OPS (vormals OPS-301) in Deutschland in welchem Zeitraum und in welchem Bereich angewendet wurde bzw. wird.

Versionsverlauf

ICPM  und ICHI der WHO

Bereits 1971 war die Notwendigkeit einer internationalen Klassifikation medizinischer Maßnahmen erkannt worden. Die WHO veröffentlichte daher 1978 die International Classification of Procedures in Medicine (ICPM). Diese war auf chirurgische Maßnahmen beschränkt. Die ICPM gehört zur Familie der Internationalen gesundheitsrelevanten Klassifikationen. Wegen der Dynamik des medizinisch-technischen Fortschritts war der Anpassungs- und Pflegeaufwand sehr hoch, es kam zu Schwierigkeiten bei der internationalen Abstimmung. Deshalb wurde die internationale Arbeit an der ICPM 1989 eingestellt. Auf nationaler Ebene wurde an Länderfassungen weitergearbeitet.

ICHI als Nachfolgerin der ICPM

In den letzten Jahren arbeitet die WHO an einer neuen Klassifikation für Gesundheitsinterventionen. Ziel der Arbeiten ist es, eine international abgestimmte Klassifikation zu erhalten, die für einen Vergleich und statistischen Austausch verwendet werden kann. Für Länder, die bisher keine eigene Prozedurenklassifikation im Einsatz haben, soll diese neue ICHI (International Classification of Health Interventions) leicht erweiterbar sein. Auch Interventionen der traditionellen Medizin und Maßnahmen des öffentlichen Gesundheitswesens sollen über diese neue Klassifikation abbildbar sein.

OPS-301: Version 1.0 bis Version 2.1

Die deutsche Fassung der ICPM entstand auf der Basis einer Übersetzung und Erweiterung der holländischen Fassung ICPM-DE (Dutch Extension) und wurde zum OPS-301 weiterentwickelt. Von den 9 Kapiteln der ICPM-DE entfielen die Kapitel 2, 3, 4, 6 und 7. Der OPS-301 Version 1.0 wurde 1994 vom DIMDI im Auftrag des BMG herausgegeben und 1995 in der stationären Versorgung angewendet.

Der OPS-301 ist ein überwiegend numerischer, monohierarchisch strukturierter Schlüssel mit zunächst fünf Hierarchieebenen. Die Version 1.0 enthielt in vier Kapitel Operationen (Kap.5) und diagnostische (Kap. 1),  nichtoperative therapeutische (Kap. 8) und ergänzende Maßnahmen (Kap. 9).

Durch den OPS-301 sollten Leistungsgeschehen und Kosten transparent gemacht werden; ihre Anwendung bei der Verschlüsselung von in Krankenhäusern durchführten Maßnahmen war durch das Gesundheitsstrukturgesetz und § 301 SGB V vorgeschrieben. Der OPS-301 ermöglichte die Abrechnung von Sonderentgelten und Fallpauschalen des alten Entgeltsystems, er ermöglichte die Abrechnung nach dem neuen G-DRG-System und er unterstützte die Dokumentation für die Qualitätssicherung nach § 137  SGB V.

2001 wurde zur Konsentierung der am OPS-301 notwendigen Änderungen auf Anregung des Kuratoriums für Fragen der Klassifikation im Gesundheitswesen (KKG) die Arbeitsgruppe OPS (AG OPS) beim DIMDI gebildet, in der alle am KKG beteiligten Organisationen vertreten sind.

Version 2.0 enthielt erstmalig das Kapitel 3: Bildgebende Diagnostik.

Die Versionen 1.0, 1.1, 2.0 und 2.1 des OPS 301 wurden von 1995 bis 2003 nur zur Verschlüsselung operativer Eingriffe in der stationären Versorgung angewendet.

Optionaler OPS: Erweiterungskatalog zum OPS-301

Ab der Version 2.1 (ab Mitte 2003) wurde der OPS-301 ergänzt um einen nichtamtlichen Erweiterungskatalog zur Unterstützung der Weiterentwicklung des OPS in Hinblick auf das G-DRG-System. Er wurde auch als optionaler OPS bezeichnet. 2009 wurde der optionale OPS wieder aufgelöst.

Optionaler OPS

OPS: Version 2004 bis heute

Ab Version 2004 wird der OPS-301 als OPS weitergeführt. Im Rahmen eines strukturierten jährlichen Vorschlagsverfahrens wird er von den in der AG OPS vertretenen Selbstverwaltungspartnern unter Federführung des DIMDI weiterentwickelt und  jährlich neu herausgegeben. Die wichtigsten inhaltlichen Änderungen gegenüber der Vorversion werden in einem Kommentar im Vorspann des jeweiligen Systematischen Verzeichnisses vorgestellt, die Änderungen im Einzelnen finden sich in den Aktualisierungslisten.

2004 wird der OPS ergänzt um ein Alphabetisches Verzeichnis. Seit 2004 wird der OPS eingesetzt, um allgemein medizinische Prozeduren im Krankenhaus zu verschlüsseln.

Seit 2005 wird der OPS auch für ambulantes und belegärztliches Operieren durch Vertragsärzte angewendet.

2006 wurde das Kapitel 6 "Medikamente" aufgenommen; bis dahin konnten Medikamente nur über sog. chemotherapeutische Listen berücksichtigt werden, die regelmäßig aktualisiert wurden.

2009 wurde der optionale OPS aufgelöst, die Kodes des optionalen OPS wurden in den amtlichen Katalog überführt bzw. gestrichen.

2010 wurde der OPS erstmals im WHO-Standardformat ClaML veröffentlicht.

2011 wurde das Format Buchfassung ASCII eingestellt.

Kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung

Über ein strukturiertes und transparentes Vorschlagsverfahren wird der OPS weiterentwickelt und zurzeit jährlich überarbeitet.

Vorschlagsverfahren OPS