Skip to main content [accesskey + 1] Skip to navigation [accesskey + 2] Skip to sidebar [accesskey + 3]


Local Servicelinks


UMLS - Unified Medical Language System

The Unified Medical Language System (UMLS) contains medical terms and the semantics between them. The terms have roots in about 100 heterogeneous concept-based classification systems and medical vocabularies in 15 languages at present. The long term project was started at the end of 1980 by the US National Library of Medicine (NLM). The project wants to: improve and to link the numerous concept-based classification systems up with one another semantically, and in this fashion, help to create conceptual links between user queries and pertinent specialised information as well as improve the accessibility of heterogeneous online information systems.

UMLS consolidates terms from specific vocabularies to a concept-based Metathesaurus. Concepts from the Metathesaurus are linked in a semantic network and feed a linguistic lexicon, which - together with computer programs for natural language processing - forms the Specialist Lexicon of the UMLS.

There is an abundance of basic and further information concerning this thesaurus on the UMLS-web pages of the NLM.

DIMDI supplies the UMLS with a large amount of German-language vocabularies thereby making German the second most frequent language in the Metathesaurus. Since the German-language entries are stored in the Metathesaurus without umlauts and diacritics, their use in computer systems is somewhat limited.

The following German-language vocabularies are part of the Metathesaurus:

  •  Medical Subject Headings, German edition,
  •  ICD-10,
  •  UMDNS,
  •  International Classification of Primary Care (ICPC),
  •  WHO Adverse Drug Reaction Terminology (WHOART)

External Information:

Zum Textbeginn - [Accesskey + 1] Zur Navigation - [Accesskey + 2] Zur Marginalspalte - [Accesskey + 3]

Navigation

lokaler Servicebereich (Marginalspalte)

Seiteninhalt/Textbeginn

UMLS - Unified Medical Language System

Das Unified Medical Language System (UMLS) enthält medizinische Bezeichnungen und semantische Beziehungen zwischen ihnen. Die Bezeichnungen stammen aus etwa 100 heterogenen begrifflichen Ordnungssystemen und medizinischen Nomenklaturen in zurzeit 15 Sprachen. Dieses ehrgeizige Projekt wurde Ende der achtziger Jahre von der US National Library of Medicine (NLM) begonnen. Das Projekt will die verschiedenen begrifflichen Ordnungssysteme semantisch anreichern und miteinander verknüpfen und hilft so, konzeptuelle Links zwischen Benutzeranfragen und relevanten Fachinformationen zu erstellen und heterogene Online-Informationssysteme besser zu erschließen.

Das UMLS führt die Bezeichnungen aus den Einzelvokabularien zu einem konzeptbasierten Metathesaurus zusammen. Die Konzepte des Metathesaurus sind in einem semantischen Netzwerk verknüpft. Die Bezeichnungen speisen ein linguistisches Lexikon, das zusammen mit einem Bündel an Sprachverarbeitungsroutinen als Specialist Lexicon enthalten ist.

Die NLM bietet auf ihrer UMLS-Homepage eine Fülle an grundlegenden und auch weiterführenden Informationen zu diesem Thesaurus an.

Das DIMDI liefert umfangreiche deutschsprachige Vokabularien in das UMLS und hat Deutsch damit zur zweithäufigsten Sprache im Metathesaurus gemacht.

Deutschsprachigen Vokabularien im Metathesaurus

Derzeit sind die folgenden deutschsprachigen Vokabularien im Metathesaurus enthalten:

  • Medical Subject Headings
  • ICD-10
  • UMDNS
  • International Classification of Primary Care (ICPC)
  • WHO Adverse Drug Reaction Terminology (WHOART)

Da die deutschsprachigen Einträge im Metathesaurus ohne Umlaute und diakritische Zeichen geliefert werden, lassen sie sich nur begrenzt in automatisierten Systemen verwenden. Das DIMDI bietet Ihnen eine Ergänzungsdatei an, in der alle diese Einträge im Windows-Zeichensatz vorliegen. Über den String Unique Identifier (SUI) des UMLS lässt sich diese Datei mit den Originaldaten verknüpfen. 

Haben Sie noch Fragen oder Anregungen? Dann wenden Sie sich bitte an uns:

Tel.: +49 221 4724-315
E-Mail: Datenbanken

Ergänzende Informationen auf unserer Website:

Weitere Informationen im Web: