Skip to main content [accesskey + 1] Skip to navigation [accesskey + 2] Skip to sidebar [accesskey + 3]

Navigation

Local Servicelinks

content

MeSH and UMLS

The medical thesaurus MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) and the UMLS (Unified Medical Language System) as a metathesaurus and semantic network are used for cataloging of library holdings, indexing of databases and improvement of retrieval. 

MeSH

The Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) are a medical thesaurus published and annually updated by the US National Library of Medicine (NLM). It is used for cataloging of the library holdings and for indexing of the databases that are produced by the NLM (e.g. MEDLINE in PubMed). DIMDI maintains and publishes the German translation of MeSH.   more »

UMLS

The Unified Medical Language System consolidates more then 100 heterogenous biomedical vocabularies into a metathesaurus and a semantic network. The Specialist Lexicon supports computer-based processing of biomedical narratives. DIMDI supplies the UMLS with extensive German-language vocabularies annually and therewith made German the second most frequent language in the metathesaurus. more »

Zum Textbeginn - [Accesskey + 1] Zur Navigation - [Accesskey + 2] Zur Marginalspalte - [Accesskey + 3]

Navigation

lokaler Servicebereich (Marginalspalte)

Seiteninhalt/Textbeginn

MeSH und UMLS

Der medizinische Thesaurus Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) und das Unified Medical Language System (UMLS) als Metathesaurus und semantisches Netzwerk medizinischer Begriffssysteme dienen der Katalogisierung und Indexierung von Medienbeständen sowie der Verbesserung des Retrievals.

MeSH

Die Medical Subject Headings sind ein von der National Library of Medicine (NLM) in den USA herausgegebener und jährlich aktualisierter medizinischer Thesaurus. U.a. indexiert die NLM damit ihre Datenbankbestände (z.B. MEDLINE in PubMed). Das DIMDI pflegt die deutsche Übersetzung des MeSH. mehr »

UMLS

Das Unified Medical Language System führt über 100 biowissenschaftliche Fachvokabularien zu einem Metathesaurus und zu einem semantischen Netzwerk zusammen. Das Specialist Lexicon dient der computerbasierten Verarbeitung biowissenschaftlicher Klartexte. Das DIMDI liefert deutschsprachige Vokabularien in das UMLS und hat Deutsch damit zur zweithäufigsten Sprache im Metathesaurus gemacht. mehr »