Skip to main content [accesskey + 1] Skip to navigation [accesskey + 2] Skip to sidebar [accesskey + 3]

Navigation

Local Servicelinks

content

Alphabetical Index of ICD-10-WHO

Volume 3 of ICD-10-WHO contains the Alphabetical Index. It consists of an extensive collection of encoded diagnoses and other descriptions. Part I contains the Alphabetical Index of diseases and injuries (diseases and nature of injury). Part II contains the Alphabetical Index of external causes of injuries. Part III contains a table of drugs and chemicals with the encoding of poisoning and unwanted effects of these substances. In addition, Volume 3 also contains an introduction on structure and use of the Alphabetical Index.

Alphabetical Index includes synonyms and quasi-synonyms

The Alphabetical Index is not simply generated by alphabetically ordering the entries in the Tabular List.

Alphabetical Index contains more terms than the Tabular List

Many of the (diagnostic) terms included in the Alphabetical Index are not included in the Tabular List of ICD-10-WHO. The terms included in a particular category of the Tabular List are not final; they serve as examples for the content of that category and as an indication of its scope and delimitation. To that end, preferred terms are used. Iin addition to these preferred terms, the associated Alphabetical Index also contains many other currently used diagnostic terms, such as synonyms and quasi-synonyms. Due to this comprehensive approach, imprecise, unwanted and possibly outdated terms are often also included because they still may appear in medical notes. As a fundamental rule, all codes taken from the Alphabetical Index should be cross-checked with the Tabular List and the Instruction Manual.

The Alphabetical Index does not contain some of the codes in the Tabular List

Not all codes contained in the Systematic index are also included in the Alphabetical Index. For example, the following are missing:

  • asterisk codes as individual codes because they can only be used in conjunction with a primary code (multiple encoding); however, they may be included in conjunction with a primary code
  • some codes whose class titles in the Tabular List include unspecific information such as "other", "not otherwise specified", "multiple sites", "of a single specified site"; however, such codes for which the systematic index states specific inclusion terms are included in the Alphabetical Index

Part I: Alphabetical Index of Diseases and Injuries

Part I contains all terms that can be assigned to categories A00-T98 and Z00-Z99 of the Systematic index, with the exception of medicines, drugs and other chemical substances that may cause poisoning or other unwanted effects.

Table of neoplasms

The multi-page "Table of neoplasms" interrupts the 2-column print layout of the Alphabetical index with its 6-column structure. Under the lead term "Neoplasms", column 1 contains modifying terms, mainly topographical information, in standard bullet form. Columns 2-5 contain the associated ICD codes, differentiated according to their character: malignant (primary, secondary), in situ, benign and uncertain or unspecified behaviour. Integrated comments explain the use of the table.

Part II: External Causes and Injuries

Part II contains all descriptions associated with categories V01-Y98, with the exception of medicines, drugs and chemical substances. Descriptions included here do not represent medical diagnoses. On the contrary, they describe the circumstances under which a violent event occurred (e.g. fire, explosion, fall, attack, collision, flooding).

Part III: Table of medicines and chemicals

Part III contains the register of medicines, drugs and other chemical substances which can cause poisoning or other unwanted effects. This very comprehensive table includes for each substance a code number for poisoning from Chapter XIX (T36-T65) and the respective code number for external causes from Chapter XX (X40-X49, X60-X69, Y10-Y19). For medicines, drugs and biological substances, the table also includes a code for unwanted effects during therapeutic application (Y40-Y59). The structure of the table is the same as that of the table of neoplasms in Part I.

Zum Textbeginn - [Accesskey + 1] Zur Navigation - [Accesskey + 2] Zur Marginalspalte - [Accesskey + 3]

Navigation

lokaler Servicebereich (Marginalspalte)

Seiteninhalt/Textbeginn

Alphabetisches Verzeichnis zur ICD-10-WHO

Band 3 der ICD-10-WHO enthält das Alphabetische Verzeichnis (Alphabet). Es besteht aus einer umfangreichen Sammlung verschlüsselter Diagnosen und anderer Bezeichnungen. Teil I enthält das Alphabetische Verzeichnis der Krankheiten und Verletzungen (Krankheiten und Art der Schädigung). Teil II enthält das Alphabetische Verzeichnis zu äußeren Ursachen von Verletzungen. Teil III enthält eine Tabelle der Arzneimittel und Chemikalien mit Verschlüsselungen von Vergiftungen und unerwünschten Nebenwirkungen dieser Substanzen. Band 3 enthält außerdem eine Einführung zu Aufbau und Benutzung des Alphabetischen Verzeichnisses.

Alphabet enthält Synonyme und Quasisynonyme

Das Alphabetische Verzeichnis entsteht nicht einfach durch Umsortierung des Systematischen Verzeichnisses.

Alphabet enthält mehr Bezeichnungen als die Systematik

Eine Vielzahl der im Alphabetischen Verzeichnis aufgeführten (Diagnosen-)Bezeichnungen sind im Systematischen Verzeichnis der ICD-10-WHO nicht enthalten: Die unter einer Kategorie des Systematischen Verzeichnisses aufgeführten Bezeichnungen sind nicht abschließend; sie dienen als Beispiele für den Inhalt der Kategorie und als Hinweise auf deren Umfang und Abgrenzung. Dabei werden sog. Vorzugsbezeichnungen verwendet. Das zugehörige Alphabetische Verzeichnis dagegen enthält neben diesen Vorzugsbezeichnungen auch viele andere, zurzeit gebräuchliche Diagnosenbezeichnungen, z.B. Synonyme und Quasisynonyme. Wegen des umfassenden Ansatzes sind auch ungenaue, unerwünschte oder möglicherweise veraltete Bezeichnungen aufgenommen, weil diese noch in ärztlichen Aufzeichnungen vorkommen können. Grundsätzlich sollten Verschlüsselungen, die dem Alphabet entnommen wurden, anhand von Systematik und Regelwerk überprüft werden.

Alphabet enthält einige Kodes der Systematik nicht

Nicht alle Kodes, die in der Systematik enthalten sind, sind auch im Alphabet enthalten. Es fehlen z.B.:

  • Sternkodes als Einzelkodes, da sie nur zusammen mit einem Primärkode verwendet werden können (Mehrfachkodierung); in Kombination mit einem Primärkode können sie aber enthalten sein
  • ein Teil der Kodes, deren Klassentitel in der Systematik unspezifische Angaben enthalten wie "sonstige", "nicht näher bezeichnete", "mehrere Lokalisationen", "einer einzelnen näher bezeichneten Lokalisation"; sind in der Systematik bei solchen Kodes jedoch spezifische Inklusiva genannt, sind diese im Alphabet enthalten

Teil I: Alphabetische Verzeichnis der Krankheiten und Verletzungen

Teil I enthält sämtliche Bezeichnungen, die den Kategorien A00-T98 und Z00-Z99 des Systematischen Verzeichnisses zuzuordnen sind, ausgenommen Arzneimittel, Drogen und sonstige chemische Substanzen, die Vergiftungen oder andere unerwünschte Nebenwirkungen hervorrufen können.

Tabelle der Neubildungen

Die mehrseitige "Tabelle der Neubildungen" unterbricht das 2-spaltige Druckbild des Alphabets durch ihren 6-spaltigen Aufbau. In Spalte 1 stehen unter dem Leitbegriff "Neubildung" in der üblichen Spiegelstrichdarstellung modifizierende Begriffe, fast ausschließlich Lokalisationsangaben. In den Spalten 2-5 stehen die zugeordneten ICD-Kodes, differenziert nach ihrem Charakter: bösartig (primär, sekundär), in situ, gutartig und unsicher bzw. unbekannt. Integrierte Hinweise erläutern die Anwendung der Tabelle.

Teil II: Äußere Ursachen und Verletzungen

Teil II enthält alle Bezeichnungen, die den Kategorien V01-Y98 zuzuordnen sind, ausgenommen Arzneimittel, Drogen und chemische Substanzen. Die hier enthaltenen Bezeichnungen stellen keine medizinischen Diagnosen dar. Es handelt sich vielmehr um Beschreibungen der Umstände, unter denen sich ein gewaltsames Geschehen ereignet hat (z.B. Feuer, Explosion, Sturz, tätlicher Angriff, Zusammenstoß, Überschwemmung).

Teil III: Tabelle der Arzneimittel und Chemikalien

Teil III enthält das Verzeichnis der Arzneimittel, Drogen und sonstigen chemischen Substanzen, die Vergiftungen oder andere unerwünschte Nebenwirkungen hervorrufen können. Für jede Substanz enthält diese sehr umfangreiche Tabelle eine Schlüsselnummer für Vergiftungen aus dem Kapitel XIX (T36-T65) und die jeweilige Schlüsselnummer für äußere Ursachen aus dem Kapitel XX (X40-X49, X60-X69, Y10-Y19). Für Arzneimittel, Drogen und biologische Substanzen enthält die Tabelle außerdem eine Schlüsselnummer für unerwünschte Nebenwirkungen bei therapeutischer Anwendung (Y40-Y59). Die Tabelle entspricht im Aufbau der Tabelle der Neubildungen in Teil I.