Skip to main content [accesskey + 1] Skip to navigation [accesskey + 2] Skip to sidebar [accesskey + 3]

Navigation

Local Servicelinks

content

Application of ICD-10-GM

This section provides you with information on the use of ICD-10-GM and the application rules that apply. In addition, we provide some examples on the purposes of encoding according to ICD-10-GM.

Rules for the use of ICD-10-GM

The Tabular List for ICD-10-GM includes a brief guide to encoding. Further information on its use is provided in the brochure on basic encoding and in the ICD-10-GM FAQs. The fundamental information in the ICD-10-WHO Instruction manual also apply to ICD-10-GM. For encoding in the inpatient sector, priority is to be given to the self-administration encoding guidelines. All documents are only available in German language.

Guide to encoding in the Tabular List

The preface to the Tabular List contains a brief guide to encoding; it is also included in the online versions under supplementary information ("Ergänzende Informationen"). The guide describes what is encoded and how it is done as well as which additional designators have to be used for some specific codes. Explanation is also provided for the use of key codes with daggers, asterisks and exclamation marks.

Basic knowlege encoding brochure

The brochure on basic knowledge encoding provides a brief introduction to the use of OPS and ICD-10-GM.

Brochure "Basiswissen Kodieren" (PDF, 530 kB) (Basic Knowledge Encoding) (in German language)

ICD-10-GM FAQs

Some general and code-specific questions are dealt with in the ICD-10-GM FAQ.

FAQs to ICD-10-GM (in German language)

Priority: German Coding Guidelines of the  self-governing partners

For encoding in inpatient health care (§ 301 SGB V), priority consideration is to be given to the German Coding Guidelines ("Kodierrichtlinien") of the self-governing partners, provided by the InEK on its website. The coding guidelines are part of  the G-DRG case-based fixed sum system "G-DRG-System". Since 2010, separate encoding guidelines apply to psychiatric and psychosomatic institutions, they are part of the PEPP payment system "PEPP-Entgeltsystem".

German Coding guidelines (DKR) and German Coding Guidelines for Psychiatry/Psychosomatics  (DKR-Psych) of InEK for the inpatient sector (in German language)

Detailed fundamentals: system of rules of ICD-10-WHO

Volume 2 of the for ICD-10-WHO, the  Instruction manual,  describes the use of the Tabular List and the Alphabetical Index to the ICD-10-WHO. Most importantly, it contains an introduction to ICD, to the encoding guidelines for mortality and morbidity in addition to numerous encoding examples. Chapter 1 provides a brief introduction, Chapter 2 describes what encoding entails, the purpose and applicability of ICD, the concept of a "family" of disease and health-related classifications, general principles of disease classification as well as the basic structure and principles of classification in the ICD. Of particular importance for an initial understanding of ICD-10 are the explanations on the basic structure (Chapter 2.4) and on the use of Volume 1 (Chapter 3), because they focus on structure and formal agreements. The fundamental information in the ICD-10-WHO Instruction manual also apply to encoding using ICD-10-GM.

Encoding using ICD-10-GM - a practical example

In a practical example, we provide a step-by-step explanation of how to proceed:

How do you encode using ICD-10-GM?

Use of ICD-10-GM encoded data

We will illustrate the benefits of encoding according to ICD-10-GM for some sample areas of application:

Why do you encode using ICD-10-GM?

Zum Textbeginn - [Accesskey + 1] Zur Navigation - [Accesskey + 2] Zur Marginalspalte - [Accesskey + 3]

Navigation

lokaler Servicebereich (Marginalspalte)

Seiteninhalt/Textbeginn

Anwendung der ICD-10-GM

Hier finden Sie  Informationen darüber, wie die ICD-10-GM angewendet wird und welche Anwendungsregeln gelten.  Außerdem zeigen wir Ihnen anhand einiger Beispiele, zu welchem Zweck nach ICD-10-GM verschlüsselt wird.

Regeln für die Anwendung des ICD-10-GM

Im Systematischen Verzeichnis der ICD-10-GM gibt es eine kurze Anleitung zur Verschlüsselung. Weitere Hinweise zur Anwendung finden Sie im "Basiswissen Kodieren" und in den FAQs zur ICD-10-GM. Grundlegende Informationen im Regelwerk zur ICD-10-WHO gelten auch für die ICD-10-GM. Für die Kodierung im stationären Bereich sind vorrangig die Kodierrichtlinien der Selbstverwaltung anzuwenden.

"Anleitung zur Verschlüsselung" im Systematischen Verzeichnis

Im Vorspann zum Systematischen Verzeichnis gibt es eine kurze Anleitung zur Verschlüsselung, sie ist unter "Ergänzende Informationen" auch Bestandteil der Onlinefassungen. Dort wird beschrieben, was und wie verschlüsselt wird und welche Zusatzkennzeichen wo verwendet werden müssen. Auch die Verwendung von Kreuz-, Stern- und Ausrufezeichenschlüsselnummer wird erläutert.

Broschüre "Basiswissen Kodieren"

Die Broschüre "Basiswissen Kodieren" bietet eine kurze Einführung in die Anwendung von OPS und ICD-10-GM.

Basiswissen Kodieren (PDF, 530 kB)

FAQs zur ICD-10-GM

Einige allgemeine und kodespezifische Fragen werden in den FAQs zur ICD-GM behandelt.

FAQs zur ICD-10-GM  

Vorrangig: Kodierrichtlinien der Selbstverwaltung

Für die Kodierung in der stationären Versorgung (§ 301 SGB V) sind vorrangig die Deutschen Kodierrichtlinien (DKR) der Selbstverwaltung heranzuziehen, die vom InEK bereitgestellt werden. Sie sind Bestandteil des G-DRG-Systems. Seit 2010 gelten als Teil des PEPP-Entgeltsystems für psychiatrische und psychosomatische Einrichtungen eigene Kodierrichtlinien (DKR-Psych).

Deutsche Kodierrichtlinien DKR und DKR-Psych beim InEK

Ausführliche Grundlagen: Regelwerk zur ICD-10-WHO

Das Regelwerk (Band 2) zur ICD-10-WHO beschreibt die Benutzung des Systematischen und des Alphabetischen Verzeichnisses der ICD-10-WHO. Es enthält vor allem eine Einführung in die ICD, die Verschlüsselungsregeln für Mortalität und Morbidität sowie zahlreiche Beispiele zur Verschlüsselung. Kapitel 1 enthält eine kurze Einführung, Kapitel 2 beschreibt, was eine Klassifikation ist,  Zweck und Anwendungsbereich der ICD, das Prinzip der Familie von krankheits- und gesundheitsrelevanten Klassifikationen, allgemeine Grundsätze der Krankheitsklassifikationen sowie Grundstruktur und Grundsätze der ICD. Für ein erstes Leseverständnis der ICD-10 besonders wichtig sind die Ausführungen zur Grundstruktur (Kap. 2.4)  und zur Benutzung von Band 1 (Kap. 3), denn hier werden vor allem Aufbau und formale Vereinbarungen erläutert. Diese grundlegenden Informationen im Regelwerk zur ICD-10-WHO gelten auch für die Verschlüsselung mit der ICD-10-GM.

Kodieren mit der ICD-10-GM - ein Anwendungsbeispiel

In einem Anwendungsbeispiel erklären wir Ihnen Schritt für Schritt, wie Sie vorgehen:

Wie wird mit der ICD-10-GM kodiert?

Anwendung ICD-10-GM-kodierter Daten

Welchen Nutzen das Kodieren mit der ICD-10-GM bringt, zeigen wir Ihnen anhand einiger Anwendungsbereiche:

Wozu wird mit der  ICD-10-GM kodiert?